Premier League Player of the Season shortlist - 2021/22

The shortlist for the 2021/22 EA Sports Premier League Player of the Season has been revealed, with Mohamed Salah, Kevin De Bruyne and Son Heung-min among those nominated.

Trent Alexander-Arnold is included in the shortlist too, as are Bukayo Saka and Joao Cancelo. It is not just the traditionally 'big' clubs represented though, with West Ham's Jarrod Bowen and Southampton skipper James Ward-Prowse completing the nominees.

This means there was not place on the list for last year's winner Ruben Dias, however De Bruyne and Salah could pick up their second awards having won in 2019/20 and 2017/18 respectively.

The Liverpool forward has already claimed one personal accolade this season, securing the Football Writers' Association Player of the Year earlier this month.

The winner of the Premier League Player of the Season will be decided by combining a fan poll with votes of the 20 club captains and a panel of 'football experts'.

Supporters have until 18:00 BST on Monday 16 May to cast their ballots. The eight nominees are as follows:

  • Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  • Jarrod Bowen (West Ham)
  • Joao Cancelo (Man City)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Man City)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
  • Son Heung-min (Tottenham)
  • James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)

Source : 90min